PCLI announces 2013 Media Awards winners


The Press Club of Long Island, the local chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, announced the winners of its 2013 Media AwardsContest at its annual awards dinner June 5 at the Woodbury Country Club.

Winners were named in 89 categories.

The 2013 Outstanding Long Island Journalist Award was presented to recently retired Newsday editorial writer Bob Keeler for achievement as a reporter, editor and editorial writer over his long career. The award is PCLI’s highest honor to an individual.

The Robert W. Greene Public Service Award was presented to Keith Herbert and Jennifer Maloney of Newsday for their story 16 Deadly Miles about Hempstead Turnpike, one of Long Island’s most dangerous roads.

PCLI board members Nicole B. Brewer and Chris R. Vaccaro were co-recipients of the Phil Spahn Award, presented to a PCLI member who has demonstrated outstanding service to journalism, PCLI or to the community.

The club recognized the outstanding efforts of a local college journalist with a $1,000 scholarship to Stephen Levine of Adelphi University.

PCLI awarded its new Learning Disability Journalism Scholarship for the first time to Gregory Gianconelli of Adelphi University.

The PCLI board’s leadership for 2013-2014 was elected:


  • Dominick Miserandino, TheCelebrityCafe.com, President
  • Nicole B. Brewer, Hamptons.com, Vice president
  • Chris R. Vaccaro, The Topps Company/Hofstra, Treasurer
  • Diana DeRosa, Photojournalist, Secretary
  • John O’Connell, Herald Newspapers, Immediate past president

Board members:

  • Bill Bleyer, Newsday
  • Meredith Daniels, Newsday
  • Jamie Lynn Ryan, Neighbor Newspapers
  • David North, WALK-FM

Post a Comment