Deadline Extended, PCLI Awards Date Changed

UPDATE: Due to recent events related to COVID-19, the PCLI Media Awards deadline has been extended to June 1 and the awards ceremony will now take place on October 7.

Journalists can enter submissions under the following divisions of categories: Narrative, Video, Digital, Radio, Visual, Student Journalism, and Special Awards and Scholarships. Each division includes categories organized by topic.

You can submit your entries through the Better BNC contest system and learn/review about the contest rules and details here.

This year we have some updates and changes to the contest that you should make note of, including the addition of new categories.

Notable changes for 2020

  • Updated Categories
    • Best Community Weekly and Best Magazine are now in the narrative category and are not “special media awards”; this means you must pay the $25 entry fee to enter these categories
    • We’ve moved all social media categories into a larger “digital” vertical and created more categories to enter in this content area (see below)
    • Best Website, Best Homepage Design, Interactive Presentation, Multimedia Database have been moved to the digital vertical
    • Further clarifying the “Best Photojournalist” categories, now it’s clearly marked as one for “still images” and one for “video” in their respective categories
  • New Categories Added
    • Digital: Best Use of Streaming Services, All Platforms
    • Digital: Best Use of Newsletters
    • Digital: User Engagement Campaign
    • Narrative: History
    • Narrative: Transportation
    • Narrative: Weather
    • Video: History
    • Video: Transportation
    • Video: Weather
    • Radio: Smart Speaker Audio

If you have any questions or issues, please email

Posted in: News

Comments are closed.