Press Club of Long Island to Honor Top Journalists, Announces 2019 Long Island Journalism Hall of Fame Inductees

The Press Club of Long Island will announce the winners of its annual journalism awards at a dinner at Watermill Caterers in Smithtown on Thursday, June 6.

The latest inductees in the Long Island Journalism Hall of Fame and winner of the Robert W. Greene Public Service Awards will also be honored at the dinner. Doors will open at 6 p.m. for the cash bar, followed by a buffet dinner at 6:45 p.m. and the awards presentation at 7:30 p.m.

“I look forward to PCLI’s awards dinner every year. It’ s a time to gather with friends and colleagues and honor the very best of Long Island journalism — which is truly among the best journalism in the country,” PCLI President Scott Brinton said. “All of the award nominees are to be congratulated for going above and beyond in their work and seeking Truth with a capital ‘T.’”

The highest individual honor bestowed by the Press Club is induction to the Long Island Journalism Hall of Fame. This year’s inductees are Pat Milton, Carol Silva and J. Conrad Williams.

Milton reported for the Associated Press on Long Island, out of the AP’s Mineola office, for more than 25 years. Today she is senior producer of the CBS News Investigative Unit and a co-producer of “60 Minutes.” Silva is the Emmy Award-winning anchor of News 12’s Mornings. Williams, a Pulitzer Prize winner, has been a news photographer for more than three decades. Before joining Newsday full-time, he had freelanced for the paper, as well as for UPI and Gannett Westchester Rockland Newspapers.

The PCLI board chose Newsday for the large-market Robert W. Greene Public Service Award for “Pathway to Power,” a seven-part, 48-page Sunday supplement on the life and corruption of Gary Melius, “the onetime West Hempstead street tough” who rose to become owner of a castle that was Long Island’s “unofficial political clubhouse” for many of the region’s most powerful elected leaders.

This year’s small-market Robert W. Greene Public Service Award goes to Herald Community Newspapers. The news group was selected for its 13-part series, “Safety and the Second,” which examined gun safety from all sides in the wake of the mass shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Fla., in February 2018.

Ronny Reyes, a reporter for the Franklin Square-Elmont Herald, is this year’s James Murphy Cub Reporter of the Year.

This year’s Hank Logeman/News 12 High School Journalism Scholarship recipient is Danielle Ranucci of Commack High School. The Learning Disability Journalism Scholarship is going to Caitria Demeroto of Southold High School.

Former PCLI President John O’Connell is being presented with the Phil Spahn Memorial Award for his years of dedicated service to the club.

A complete list of finalists for all PCLI Media Awards is available on the link here and below. For inquiries about the PCLI Media Awards please email

We hope to see you at our Awards Banquets June 6. Purchase tickets below!


About PCLI: The Press Club of Long Island is a professional chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists. We’re devoted to protecting and advocating for First Amendment rights, furthering ethical standards and providing ongoing training for our members. It was founded in 1974. In 2017, it was awarded as SPJ’s National Pro Chapter of the Year. Learn more on

Posted in: News

Comments are closed.