Press Club of Long Island to Honor Top Journalists, Announces 2018 Long Island Journalism Hall of Fame Inductees

The Press Club of Long Island will announce the winners of its annual journalism awards at a dinner at Woodbury Country Club on Thursday, June 7.

The latest inductees in the Long Island Journalism Hall of Fame and winner of the Robert W. Greene Public Service Award will also be honored at the dinner.

Doors open at 6 p.m. for the cash bar followed by a buffet dinner at 6:45 p.m. and the awards presentation at 7:30 p.m.

“It’s our distinct privilege to honor the very best in journalism on Long Island each year,” said PCLI president Chris R. Vaccaro. “Congratulations to this year’s winners. We are inspired by the work being done every day by journalists on Long Island.”

The highest individual honor bestowed by the press club is induction to the Long Island Journalism Hall of Fame. This year’s inductees are Harvey AronsonBrian Donovan and Carol Pack.

Aronson was a writer, editor and writing coach at Newsday for more than 40 years. Today he is a lecturer at Stony Brook University. Donovan was a longtime investigative reporter at Newsday who has won numerous awards, including two Pulitzer Prizes. Pack is being inducted into the PCLI Contributor’s Wing of the Hall for her work with PCLI and the Society of Professional Journalists. She is a former PCLI president.

The PCLI board chose Newsday for the large-market Robert W. Greene Public Service Award for an unprecedented database investigation led by reporter Matt Clark, who analyzed more than 60 million rows of data, including 2.5 million tax bills, to reveal deep and discriminatory flaws in the dramatic overhaul of Nassau County’s tax assessment system.

This year marks the debut of a small-market Robert W. Greene Public Service Award. The Long Beach Herald was selected for its multi-part series chronicling the city five years after Superstorm Sandy.

The Independent/East Hampton Media Group was named best community weekly newspaper by the PCLI board, while Port Washington Magazine was selected as best magazine.

The Delphian, the student paper at Adelphi University, is being recognized as this year’s best college newspaper, and The Red & Black, the student online paper at Patchogue-Medford High School, is the winner of best high school media outlet.

Zach Gottehrer-Cohen, a journalist with Long Island Herald Newspapers, is this year’s James Murphy Cub Reporter of the Year.

This year’s PCLI outstanding college Journalist is Erika Peters from Suffolk County Community College, while the Hank Logeman/News 12 High School Journalism Scholarship recipient is Zoe Malin of North Shore High School.

Joe Catalano is being presented with the Phil Spahn Memorial Award for his volunteer work with the club, especially his dedication in directing the club’s annual holiday show for many years.

A complete list of finalists for all PCLI Media Awards is available on the link below! For inquiries about the PCLI Media Awards please email

About PCLI: The Press Club of Long Island is a professional chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists. We’re devoted to protecting and advocating for First Amendment rights, furthering ethical standards and providing ongoing training for our members. It was founded in 1974. In 2017, it was awarded as SPJ’s National Pro Chapter of the Year. Learn more on



Posted in: News

Comments are closed.