Press Club of Long Island to Honor Top Journalists, Announces 2017 Long Island Journalism Hall of Fame Inductees

The Press Club of Long Island will announce the winners of its annual journalism awards at a dinner at Woodbury Country Club on Wednesday, June 7.

The latest inductees in the Long Island Journalism Hall of Fame and winner of the Robert W. Greene Public Service Award will also be honored at the dinner. Doors open at 6 p.m. for the cash bar followed by a buffet dinner at 6:45 p.m. and the awards presentation at 7:30 p.m.

All other finalists for this year’s PCLI Media Awards will be announced in the coming week, so stay tuned for additional information and lists to be published on

“We are thrilled to honor the top journalists on Long Island again this year,” said PCLI president Chris R. Vaccaro. “The press club aims to honor the very best in journalism from the high school level through the pro ranks on Long Island, where groundbreaking work is being done every day. With every honor and award we shed light on the need for impactful, objective and fair reporting, and there has never been a more important time for this.”

“This year’s inductees in the Long Island Journalism Hall of Fame — Jimmy Breslin, Helen Rattray and Carl Corry—represent the spirit and heart of the industry,” Vaccaro said.

Breslin started his career at the Long Island Press and wrote for Newsday before becoming a longtime columnist at the New York Daily News. Rattray is the longtime publisher of The East Hampton Star. Corry is being inducted into the PCLI Contributor’s Wing of the Hall for his work with PCLI and the Society of Professional Journalists. He is a former PCLI president, SPJ Region 1 director and SPJ director at-large.

The Suffolk Times was named best community weekly newspaper by the PCLI board, while the Northforker Winepress Magazine was selected as the winner of the best magazine award.

The Statesman, the student paper at Stony Brook University, is being recognized as this year’s best college newspaper, and The Phoenix, the student paper at Elmont Memorial High School, is this year’s best high school newspaper.

The PCLI board chose Newsday for the Robert W. Greene Public Service Award for its investigative series on the systemic flaws in Long Island’s judicial system that have allowed hundreds of cases to be sealed from public view despite regulations designed to make the courts more transparent.

Kelly Zegers, a journalist with the Times Review Media Group, is this year’s James Murphy Cub Reporter of the Year.

This year’s PCLI outstanding college Journalist is Bryan Grilli from Adelphi University, while the Hank Logeman/News 12 High School Journalism Scholarship recipient is Maya Brown from Freeport High School.

For inquiries about the PCLI Media Awards please email

About PCLI: The Press Club of Long Island is a professional chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists. We’re devoted to protecting and advocating for First Amendment rights, furthering ethical standards and providing ongoing training for our members. It was founded in 1974. In 2017 it was awarded as SPJ’s National Pro Chapter of the Year. Learn more on

Posted in: News

Comments are closed.