2015 PCLI Media Awards winners announced

The Press Club of Long Island has announced the winners of its annual journalism awards, including the latest inductees of the Long Island Journalism Hall of Fame, and winner of the Robert W. Greene Public Service Award.

All winners were honored at the annual Press Club of Long Island Media Awards dinner on Thursday, June 4, at Woodbury Country Club.

CLICK HERE for the complete list of winners in all categories!

This year’s inductees of the Long Island Journalism Hall of Fame are Shelly Feuer Domash and Susan Murphy. Feuer Domash is a contributing reporter for the Long Island Press whose work has appeared in The New York Times, Newsday and on radio and television. Murphy was a longtime news director and morning news anchor at WALK-FM, as well as a former assistant dean at Hofstra University’s School of Communication.

Additionally, this year’s posthumous inductees to the Hall of Fame are Alicia Patterson andHarry Guggenheim, the founders of Newsday. Patterson is the founder and editor of the paper, while Guggenheim, her husband, ran administration of the business upon his return from World War II. After Patterson’s death in 1963, Guggenheim became publisher and editor.

New to the Long Island Journalism Hall of Fame is the PCLI Contributors wing and our inaugural inductee is longtime Press Club board member Bill Bleyer. A former PCLI president and Region 1 director of the Society of Professional Journalists, Bleyer was also a reporter at Newsday for 33 years and is the co-author of the newly published book “Long Island and the Civil War.” He is currently vice president of PCLI and has been on the board for 32 years.

Newsday is the winner of this year’s Robert W. Greene Public Service Award for its year-long focus on public corruption, which started with the assassination attempt of Long Island power broker and real estate developer Gary Melius.

Victoria Chiesa, a senior at Adelphi University, is this year’s College Journalism Scholarship Award winner. Chiesa is the editor-in-chief of The Delphian student-run newspaper.

Alanna Levine, a senior at Jericho High School, has been selected as the Hank Logeman/News 12 High School Journalism Award winner.

The Hofstra Chronicle was selected as the Best Collegiate Newspaper.

The Manhasset Press, published by Anton Newspapers, was selected as the Best Community Weekly Newspaper.

Jamie Lynn Ryan, managing editor of South Bay’s Neighbor Newspapers and managing editor of Seasons Magazine, is this year’s Phil Spahn Memorial Award winner. The Spahn Award is presented to a PCLI member who has demonstrated leadership, ability and outstanding service to journalism, PCLI and the community.

CLICK HERE for the complete list of winners in all categories!

Stay tuned for images to the Media Awards dinner!

Posted in: News

Comments are closed.