The 2014 PCLI Media Awards, honoring some of the top journalists on Long Island, will take place on June 5 at the Woodbury Country Club.

There will be more than 200 finalists honored that evening in more than 70 categories.

Earlier this year, PCLI announced the creation of the Long Island Journalism Hall of Fame. The first inductees will include all previous recipients of the annual PCLI Outstanding Long Island Journalist Award, the group’s highest honor to an individual. Starting this year, that award will be replaced by induction into the Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame will also include prominent Long Island journalists of the past, starting this year with Walt Whitman, one of America’s greatest poets and the founder of The Long-Islander, a newspaper that continues to serve the Huntington area.

In addition to Walt Whitman, first-year Hall of Fame inductees will include the following (with their affiliation at the time):

  • Dennis Bell, Newsday
  • Rick Brand, Newsday
  • Frank Brinka, WALK-FM
  • Scott Brinton, Herald Community Newspapers
  • Greg Cergol, WNBC-TV
  • Charles Dolan, Cablevision/News 12 Networks
  • Pat Dolan, News 12 Networks
  • Ken Eckhardt, LI News Tonight
  • Doug Geed, News 12 Long Island
  • Robert W. Greene, Hofstra University
  • Karl Grossman, freelance journalist
  • Walt Handelsman, Newsday

casino games

  • Carolyn James, ACJ Communications
  • Robert Keeler, Newsday
  • John L. Kominicki, Long Island Business News
  • Hank Logeman, UPI
  • Ed Lowe, Newsday
  • Sandra Peddie, Newsday
  • Howard Schneider, Newsday
  • Paul Schreiber, Newsday
  • Doug Spero, WNBC-TV
  • Steve Wick, Newsday
  • Bob Wolff, News 12 Long Island
  • Bill Zimmerman, News 12 Long Island

Tickets are on sale now for the event.

Posted in: Uncategorized

Post a Comment