2009 PCLI Media Awards winners


WOODBURY, NY, JUNE 4 – News 12 Long Island News Director Patrick F. Dolan, Newsday and the Long Island Press won the top three awards when the Press Club of Long Island, the local chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, announced the winners of its 2009 Media Awards contest at its annual awards dinner Thursday night.[singlepic id=35 w=320 h=240 float=right]

Newsday and the Long Island Press were chosen as joint winners of this year’s Robert Greene Public Service Award. Newsday won for its investigative series, The Pension and the Privileges, which exposed the practice of private attorneys being reported as public employees in order to qualify for benefits. The Press was honored for Long Highland, which illuminated the growing problem of hard-core drug use in the region.

The 2009 Outstanding Long Island Journalist Award was presented to Dolan for achievement over his career. The award is PCLI’s highest honor to an individual.

Additionally, Dominick Miserandino, executive editor of TheCelebrityCafe.com, received the Phil Spahn Award, presented to a PCLI member who has demonstrated outstanding service to journalism, PCLI or to the community.

PCLI also gave this year’s Cub Reporter of the Year award to Brad Pareso of the Long Island Press.

The club also recognized the outstanding efforts of local college journalism students with two $1,000 college scholarships. They went to Robert Hahn and Denise Harelick, both from New York Institute of Technology.

Bay Shore High School student Jillian Ferraro received the $2,000 News 12 Long Island/Hank Logeman High School Journalism Award, named in honor of the late UPI reporter who was a mentor to many young journalists.

In all, PCLI gave out awards in 49 categories in print, television, radio and Internet journalism.

At the dinner, PCLI members elected the club’s leadership for 2009-2010.


slate of officers is as follows:

John C. O’Connell, President
Meredith Daniels, Executive Vice President
Jamie Lynn Ryan, VP-Print
Michael DelGiudice, VP-Broadcast
Bill Bleyer, Treasurer
Diana DeRosa, Recording Secretary
Carl Corry, Corresponding Secretary

The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s largest and most broad-based journalism organization, with 60 pro chapters and 250 student chapters nationwide. SPJ is dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior.

For a complete list of winners and more Press Club of Long Island information, go to www.pcli.org.

[nggallery id=2]

Posted in: PCLI Media Awards, SPJ

Post a Comment